7 Certifications for Wi-Fi Professionals

Certifications are a boon for technology professionals, allowing them to increase their knowledge and showcase expertise in a straightforward fashion. Plus, it may help them stand out from other applicants when seeking out opportunities, making it easier to advance their careers.

For those focused on the Wi-Fi landscape, there are many certifications that are worth acquiring. Here’s a look at some of the most popular and widely respected certifications for Wi-Fi professionals.

1. Certified Wireless Specialists (CWS)

An entry-level certification, the CWS focuses on those who are relatively new to the Wi-Fi niche, as well as professionals operating in a sales or marketing capacity. It focuses on Wi-Fi terminology and similar core details, allowing professionals to showcase their understanding of the general Wi-Fi landscape.

2. Certified Wireless Technician (CWT)

Another entry-level certification, the CWT focuses more on the installation and configuration of Wi-Fi networks, albeit at an introductory level. It’s an ideal choice for those who are taking their first steps into the field, showing that they can property manage access points and device configurations based on a client or company’s requirements.

3. Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA)

A mid-level credential, the CWNA is designed with administrators in mind, particularly those who are in the field. It includes details about site surveys, installations, and Wi-Fi security, though the latter is mainly addressed at an introductory level.

4. Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP)

A professional-level certification, the CWSP takes a deep dive into Wi-Fi security, focusing on the enterprise company space. It covers installation and configuration strategies that enhance security, reducing the odds of unauthorized use and access.

Unlike the previous certifications, this one requires some career longevity and prior certifications. Namely, having the CWNA is necessary to qualify for the CWSP exam.

5. Certified Wireless Design Professional (CWDP)

Another professional-level credential, the CWDP also has the CWNA as a prerequisite. This certification is designed for wi-Fi networkers who are highly familiar with radio frequency (RF) technology, internet protocol (IP), and other features of an 802.11 network. Additionally, the associated curriculum focuses o the design aspect, addressing varying needs in accordance with nuances in the environments.

6. Certified Wireless Analysis Professional (CWAP)

Like the two above, the CWAP is a professional-level certification that has the CWNA certification as a prerequisite. While the CWDP focuses on the initial design, CWAP centers on troubleshooting and optimization, ensuring existing Wi-Fi networks operate efficiently and remain aligned with organizational needs.

7. Certified Wireless Network Expert (CWNE)

An expert-level certification, the CWNE is designed with highly skilled Wi-Fi professionals in mind. It aims to put their knowledge and capabilities to the test, allowing those who genuinely rose to the top of their field to demonstrate their advanced knowledge with ease.

Get in Touch with Our Recruiters

Ultimately, each of the Wi-Fi certifications above can boost your tech career, making them wise additions to your resume. If you’d like to learn more about how you can advance in the field or are interested in career-boosting job opportunities, the team at TekCom wants to hear from you. Contact us today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *